Latest News
Zhang Lu named as finalist for 2017 CSL Gold Glove Award
Last Updated: 2017-11-02 10:02 | Xinhua
 Save  Print   E-mail

Tianjin Quanjian goalkeeper and captain Zhang Lu has been named as a finalist for the 2017 Gold Glove awards, along with three other players, the Chinese Football Association announced ahead of the Chinese Super League (CSL) wrapping up on Nov. 4.

The other finalists are all national teams goalies - Zeng Cheng of Guangzhou Evergrande, Wang Dalei of Shandong Luneng, and Yan Junling of Shanghai SIPG.

With one match to go, Tianjin Quanjian sit fourth with 51 points. Zhang Lu conceded just 32 goals, only two more than that of Wang Dalei from Luneng. Zeng Cheng had 40 conceded goals, and Yan Junling 36.

Zhang Lu conceded 27 goals last season in the China League, which greatly contributed to Quanjian's promotion to the CSL and was likely the reason that Zhang Lu won the Gold Glove Award of the China League last season.

In the fifth round of the CSL, Zhang Lu denied more than 10 goals from SIPG's powerful Brazilian strikers like Hulk, Elkeson and Oscar, which helped Quanjian nail a 1-1 tie.

"It is an honor to be named as one of the Golden Glove finalists. It is for me a recognition as well as a motivation," said Zhang Lu. "I hope we can deliver a great match on Nov. 4, worthy of the fan's trust," Zhang added.

Share to 
Related Articles:
Most Popular
Chinese | BIG5 | Deutsch
Xinhuanet | | People's Daily Online | | CNTV | | Global Times | | China Youth International | Visit Beijing |
About | About the Economic Daily | Contact us
Copyright 2003-2015 China Economic Net. All right reserved