News Tool: Save | Print | E-mail   
ASEAN leaders adopt Phnom Penh Declaration
Last Updated(Beijing Time):2012-04-03 20:31

The ASEAN leaders adopted the Phnom Penh Declaration on ASEAN: One Community, One Destiny at the Peace Palace here on Tuesday, pledging to continue their utmost efforts to implement ASEAN initiatives and agreements to push forward community building.

The Declaration was adopted after extensive deliberations and discussion at a full-day plenary session during which the leaders exchanged views on the progress made in implementation of key documents and deals, first and foremost, the Roadmap for an ASEAN Community (2009-2015), the three Community Blueprints and the Initiative for ASEAN Integration Work Plan , and the Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity.

They also renewed their commitment to enhance effective coordination and cooperation among the member states and between ASEAN and external parties to realize the ASEAN objectives.

According to the Declaration, the leaders say they are inspired by the achievements of ASEAN in its 45 years of existence in striving towards a fully integrated, people-centered, people- oriented and rules-based organization, and that they endorse a coordinated ASEAN approach and improved partnership that would contribute to regional and global undertakings to make more achievements of ASEAN in the future.

They also uphold the eventual realization of a regional Code of Conduct, collective efforts to address the non-traditional challenges faced by the region as well as the international community, through the promotion of closer and more efficient collaboration in the relevant areas of cooperation, inter alia, disaster risk reduction and management, peace-keeping operations, counter-terrorism activities, combating transnational crimes, maritime security, trafficking in persons and other challenges.

Earlier in the day, the leaders also adopted the Phnom Penh Agenda for ASEAN Community Building which outlines the priority areas to focus on under the Cambodian Chairmanship in 2012, including equitable economic development, regional financial stability, the participation of the private sector, disaster management, food security, the role of women in boosting regional prosperity, among others.

The two-day Summit will conclude Wednesday with back-to-back adoptions of several documents that are expected to strengthen the endeavors and mechanisms for an ASEAN Community envisioned by 2015.

The ASEAN, established in 1967, groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Tool: Save | Print | E-mail  

Photo Gallery--China Economic Net
Photo Gallery
About | About the Economic Daily | Contact us
Copyright 2003-2024 China Economic Net. All right reserved